A password-protected directory is a folder which cannot be accessed unless the correct login details are supplied. This can be an entire website or just a single page which is located within a subfolder. If you try to open this sort of a directory, you shall see a web browser pop-up in which you will need to input a username and a password. If you enter the right ones, you will be able to continue exploring the content without needing to do anything else. In case the login credentials are not right, however, you'll see a message that you are not allowed to see the content. In case this feature is enabled, you won't be able to open a file even when you have a direct link. The function is quite practical if you wish to restrict the access to some content or if you are developing an Internet site and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
If you use any of our shared website hosting plans, you can set up password-protected areas without difficulty even if you have zero experience with this type of matters. We've incorporated a very easy-to-use point-and-click tool within the Hepsia Control Panel, supplied with all accounts, so you shall be able to protect any folder within a matter of seconds. You'll only have to select a domain or a subdomain and the exact folder that should be protected (the main one or a subfolder), and then to enter the desired username and password that'll be used to access the folder in question at some point. Any protected folder will have a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall be able to see instantly what content is secured and what is not. If necessary, you can create a number of sets of login details for precisely the same folder.